Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Wellbeing

Wellbeing Resources and Services

This page was last updated on: 2/7/21

Guidance and Standards

Public Health England's "Guidance for the public on the mental health and wellbeing
aspects of coronavirus (COVID-19)" provides advice on "wellbeing during the coronavirus (COVID-19 ) outbreak".

 

 

Learn what staff can and should expect from their NHS Employers
on their "Health, Safety and Wellbeing" page, which collects links and resources.

 

 

 

COVID-19 Guidance for Muslim Communities from The Muslim Council of Britain.

 

 

Guidance for staff providing psychological support:

Free Professional Support and One-to-One Coaching

Doctors in Distress Facilitated Support Groups for Junior Doctors at Barts Health NHS Trust:

 

 

Project 5
A not-for-profit community interest company led by clinicians and coaches, Project 5 links staff inundefined
need to professionals with the skills to assist at a time of crisis. NHS staff can book free evidence-based one-to-one coaching and support, or take self-directed online learning modules. Register and book via their website here.

 

Online Staff Common Room

The staff common room is an opportunity for NHS people to come together and support each other during this difficult time. The staff common rooms are a safe and supportive environment, hosted by professional psychologists where colleagues can continue to stay mentally well through sharing, connecting, or just listening. They are open to anyone working in the NHS.
The Staff Common Room will be held daily.
Doctors can also join a Doctor's Common Room.

To register, please visit the events page at Workforce Wellbeing Events.
For inquires email: workforce.wellbeing@nhs.net

 

Keeping Well NEL

Colleagues are able to access immediate mental health and wellbeing support using a new online tool named Keeping Well NEL. Therapists can be contacted via live chat, phone or email if a member of staff is struggling or worried. For more information visit: https://keepingwellnel.nhs.uk/

Wellbeing Resources from Professional Bodies

The British Association of Critical Care Nurses has made their Staff Wellbeing undefined
page freely available. On it you'll find links to bite-sized resilience training videos, links to mindfulness and leadership resources for nurses.

 

"COVID-19 (Coronavirus) and your mental wellbeing" from the Royal College of Nursing undefined
directs nurses to "information, advice and support to help you with your mental wellbeing during the COVID-19 emergency", including Our Frontline, which offers all healthcare workers round-the-clock one-to-one support by call or text from trained volunteers, and the RCN's own Counselling service.

 

The Intensive Care Society's Wellbeing Hub hosts a series of "wellbeing at work" posters for display in the workplace to help combat stress, on topics such as "how to approach self-care" and "Understanding psychological wellbeing at work", as well as links to other bodies' materials, such as the Association of Anaesthetists' wellbeing & support collection.

Other Online Wellbeing Resources for NHS Staff

WellbeingAndCoping.net offers a range of things that you can do to relieve distress, stress and anxiety, using the ‘30-3-30’ approach: elect things that you can practically fit in to whatever time you have available, be that 30 seconds, 3 minutes or 30 minutes. This website, co-funded by NHS England, has been designed by "a group of people who want to help anyone who is struggling with the very challenging situation we are all in".

 

A wellbeing and mental health project designed to connect and support London health and social care staff during the Coronavirus outbreak, the freely accessible InMind site is regularly updated with podcasts and thought pieces.

 

 

Designed by junior doctors and medical students, the Beat COVID freely accessible website covers mindfulness, nutrition, sleep and staying active, and contains "daily wellbeing content, specifically designed for the challenge of keeping a healthy mind and body whilst fighting the COVID battle".

 

The How Are You Feeling Today? NHS Toolkit is built around a free online questionnaire that responds dynamically by providing links to resources/services dependent on your answers to questions relating to your mood and worries. It also works for whole teams. 

 

 

HEE's online learning platform, e-Learning for Healthcare, features a "Coronavirus COVID-19 Programme" that is freely available to all NHS staff. The programe's "Wellbeing for Staff" module is at the bottom of the list of modules and contains self-guided units on lots of mental health issues; from mindfulness to dealing with death.

 

 

For Tower Hamlets residents: TTHT's free Mental Health Webinarsundefined

Tower Hamlets Talking Therapies are providing free  webinars on a number of topics - including "5 steps to wellbeing", "anxiety", and "mindful relaxation" - for Tower Hamlets residents aged 18+. Simply select your topic and sign-up using the online self-referral form.

Wellbeing Resources and Services from Barts Health

As reported on WeShare, "next week marks the start of our over the rainbow ‘reflection rooms’. Everyone can drop in, grab a cake and record a few words to camera.

Remember to use the hashtag: #BHOvertheRainbow

Times and locations

  • Monday 5 July 12:00-17:00 - The Royal London Hospital
    (Interview room, Ward 7C)
  • Tuesday 6 July 10:00-17:00 - Newham Hospital
    (Training room 1, Education Academy)
  • Wednesday 7 July 10:00-17:00 - St Bartholomew's Hospital
    (Treasurer's room, North Wing)
  • Thursday 8 July 10:00-17:00 - Whipps Cross Hospital
    (Seminar room, Learning Centre, Hospital Road, opposite car park 2)
  • Friday 9 July 09:30-12.30 - Mile End Hospital (Room 7, Education Academy)
  • Friday 9 July 14:00-16:00 - 20 Churchill Place, Canary Wharf
    (Walthamstow Market, Floor 9)
  • Friday 9 July - NHS Covid-19 vaccination centre, The Street at Westfield
    (across from the Asper's Casino and two doors down from TK Maxx)"

 

Team Time

As reported in Group Director of People Michael Pantlin's blog post Take time out with your team for well-being this winter season, The Group Executive Board has agreed to support and encourage Barts Health staff to make time with their teams for well-being this December. Michael shared the following resources via theTrust's weekly newsletters:

The Royal London Hospital Theatre Wellbeing Project has been running since 2018 and serves as a great example of Team Time!

 

Employee Wellbeing on WeShare

Barts Health wellbeing infoBarts Health has created an Employee Wellbeing page on WeShare to keep you updated with ways the Trust can help you look after your mental and physical wellbeing during the COVID-19 pandemic. Amongst other features, it contains:

- Vicky Kelly, Consultant Clinical Psychologist from St Bartholomew's Hospital's blog about dealing with anxiety and stress in relation to COVID-19.
- Links to mental health charity Mind's range of online tips and resources to help you with everything from self-isolation, social distancing and general anxiety.

- Sara Hiles, staff nurse and Mental Health First Aider at Newham Hospital, talks about the importance of maintaining our wellbeing and offers her "top tips for staff to combat stress" in this WeShare blog, and her colleague Samantha Ming, mental health first aid lead, discusses changing the way we think and talk about mental health.

You can contact the Mental Health First Aid team of trained volunteers for support over the phone, face-to-face, or via email at MHFA.bartshealth@nhs.uk or MHFA.bartshealth2@nhs.uk.

 

 

 

 

"Calm Spaces" and Wellbeing Hubs at Our Hospitals

Royal London Hospital

RLH Comms has announced that "Wellbeing areas have opened up for staff at our hospital on the 7th, 13th, 14th and 15th floors. Look out for signs in the hospital showing where they are located."

As reported on WeShare, two ‘calm space’ rooms have been set up at The Royal London Hospital for staff members to focus on wellbeing and rest... The two rooms are situated on the Adult Critical Care Unit in what were the team’s relative interview rooms.

The Healing Space at the Royal London is a designated are on the 7th floor open to ALL staff 24 hours a day for staff to relax in. Drinks and snacks will be available.

Location: Lift 5 | Floor 7 | Children’s Hospital.

Psychological Support Sessions are available weekdays between 1.30 – 3.30pm. Drop in to see them at The Healing Space, or book by email: bartshealth.wecare.bookingrlh@nhs.net.

 

 

PPE skin clinic: The Royal London Hospital has a PPE skin clinic every weekday from 1pm to 2pm:

Monday and Thursday – ITU Visitor waiting area 4th Floor

Tuesday – Wellness area 7th Floor

Wednesday and Fridays – 15D

 

The Employee Wellbeing Service MOT clinic @ Royal London: 31-43 Ashfield Street (E1 2AH, near Royal London Hospital). Shared by Charmaine Yankey, Improving Working Live Co-ordinator:

"A workplace health screening is being provided by our Employee Wellbeing team at the Royal London. There is also a mobile unit which will allow off-site locations to be covered so more staff will be able to access this service if required This service is free and takes up to 1 hour of your time, offering a health check that covers: blood pressure height, weight and BMI (obesity), cholesterol, diabetes (finger prick test), cardiovascular risk factors, and more... To find out more or book your MOT please call 0203 594 660 the Employee Wellbeing Service (EWS) reception on 0203 594 6609 or email occupationalhealth.bartshealth@nhs.net"

 

St Barts Hospital

There are also new calm spaces at St Bart’s Hospital, in the KGV Building, 2nd floor, clinic 5; and in the North Wing (with quiet and group spaces).

The staff-only Wellbeing Hub in the West Wing of St Barts Hospital has now reverted back to the Book & Latte Cafe. A new dedicated staff-only wellbeing space is now open in the historic North Wing, available from Monday to Friday.

 

Whipps Cross Hospitalundefined

The Whipps Cross Hospital Wellbeing Hub is next to the library in the Medical Education Centre (junction 11) and is now open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. The room will be set up so that staff can serve themselves with tea, coffee and biscuits. There will be volunteer hosts in the space on some days, and at other times the hub will be unattended. Out of office hours, you will be able to enter the MEC using swipe access.
 
Staff are asked to keep the space welcoming and hospitable for everyone by following this guidance:

  • Please sign in so we know how many people are using the space and what the demand is
  • Please remember that the space is for all staff groups, including colleagues from Serco and other partner organisations, and that everyone is welcome to use it
  • Follow social distancing rules: please don’t move the furniture to sit closer to colleagues; you should remove your mask only to eat and drink
  • Please use the space for your own wellbeing. It is a place to have a few minutes peace and quiet, browse a book or newspaper, do some colouring. You can help yourself to a drink and a snack, but please do not take anything out of the hub
  • Please throw your rubbish in the bin and wipe your table as you leave

Staff and volunteers will visit the space to restock supplies and to check that the space is being used appropriately and is safe for everyone to use.

 

 

Newham
The library at Newham Hospital is open to staff 10am and 4pm from Mondays to Fridays.

 

The Canning Town wellbeing hub is located on the 1st floor and includes a range of wellbeing resources from a neuroSLEEP bed, massage chair, craft activities and access to skin care support for colleagues who are struggling with the effects of PPE (ad hoc clinics are being undertaken). Please see this WeShare page for more information.

 

 

Barts Health Wellbeing Contacts

Visit The Employee Wellbeing Service (OH) WeShare page or call them on 020 3594 6609.

The Barts Health Chaplaincy team is available 24/7 on 020 8123 9033.

The Employee Assistance Programme is also available 24/7 for advice and support independent of Barts Health in relation to stress, anxiety and health: 0800 085 1376.

The Barts Psychology Support Line: 07713 099 178 (email bartshealth.wecare.bookingrlh@nhs.net)

Home Working and Wellbeing

For Leaders

Leadership Evidence Updates

Sign-up to receive our monthly Leadership Evidence Updates straight to your inbox, for all the latest news, guidance and research on leadership.

Team Leader Webinars

In response to staff feedback Barts Health have set up a vibrant team leader community and hold fortnightly
webinars to provide you with:

  •  A safe space for you to meet peers across the Trust
  • An opportunity to share your experiences and hear from others
  • A place for you to have your say on what support you need in order to support and lead your team
  • A chance to have a buddy with a fellow team leader within the Trust

For more details please email malika.chudi@nhs.net

Other Leadership Resources:

  • The King's Fund's Leading Through COVID-19 page contains a wealth of short blogs and vlogs from a variety of leaders on leadership during the pandemic.
  • Free Mental Health Conversation Training for NHS Staff - from NHS Employers: "Training is now available for NHS managers, supervisors, and those with caring responsibilities for NHS staff, to talk about mental health and wellbeing during and beyond COVID-19. The sessions will help managers identify team members who may be struggling with their mental health and learn how to confidently initiate supportive wellbeing conversations." Set up an account on the website to access the training.

  • Barts Health Managers or supervisors looking for support can call 0800 085 3805.
  • #Caring4NHSPeople Wellbeing Webinars - free monthly webinars open to anyone with any role in supporting the wellbeing of NHS staff. Register and watch live on the 2nd Wednesday of each month from 4pm - 5pm, or watch the recordings at any time. Recent sessions have focused on "managing stress" and "health and wellbeing during the COVID-19 response".
  • Psychological First Aid Training for Staff and Volunteers - a free online course that develops skills and confidence to provide psychological support to people affected by COVID-19, including on issues such as job worries, bereavement or isolation. The course has been developed by Public Health England with support from NHS England and Health Education England.

  • East & North Herts NHS Trust's "HAYD - 5 Questions" Youtube video demonstrates an easy method for checking-in on your team's welfare.
  • Leading with compassion through the COVID-19 pandemic – A variety of videos and links collated by NHS Wales to resources and organisations which offer support for leaders.
  • Manager Wellbeing Matters - A slideshow resource for managers to enable them to support their own wellbeing, and the wellbeing of those they manage, produced by NHS Wales.
  • "Remote working: Balancing Productivity, Security and Employee Wellbeing", free webinar from Christian Reilly. An open discussion on the social, technical and people aspect of remote working and corporate responsibility. Episodes of these interactive #VirtualCoffee live-stream series by workspace and hybrid cloud experts provide topical thought leadership content every two weeks Remote working: Balancing Productivity, Security and Employee Wellbeing.
  • "The psychological needs of health care staff as a result of the Coronavirus pandemic" from the British Psychological Society is a guide for leaders and managers of health care services who will need to consider the wellbeing needs of all staff working in health care as a result of the Covid-19 outbreak.

undefined

NHS People

Offers over 200 guides on their website to help staff manage their own health and wellbeing whilst looking after others, plus the following support lines:

 

Leadership Circles

As part of the health and wellbeing programme to support leaders and their teams across the NHS during Covid-19, a series of Leadership Support Community Events are available for NHS managers and supervisors from NHS People. These events are unique, online learning opportunities for those with responsibility for managing others. The themes covered include: Looking after yourself, Speaking candidly and compassionately, Creating safe spaces, and Encouraging everyone to talk. To see a full list of events and book your place visit: https://people.nhs.uk/event/leadership-circles-autumn-series/

If you are worried/anxious about Coronavirus

For NHS staff worried/anxious about Coronavirus:

Call 0800 085 1376 or 020 7938 0963 

Email the team at assist@cic-eap.co.uk

Visit their website at www.well-online.co.uk (please contact library for username/password)

For parents with children worried about Coronavirus:

For anyone worried/anxious about Coronavirus:

For Carers

Barts Health is a member of Employers for Carers, an organisation that helps employers to support their members of staff who are carers outside of work. Their Coronavirus (COVID-19) page gathers all their guidance, FAQs, hints and tips for carers during the pandemic.

 

Carers Uk - A national charity that supports the families of children with additional
needs, they can be contacted on 0808 808 7777 from Monday to Friday, 9am-6pm, or e-mail:
Advice@carersuk.org

Bereavement Support

Barts Health offers a confidential bereavement support line, operated by Hospice UK and free to access from 8:00am – 8:00pm, seven days a week. A team of fully qualified and trained bereavement specialists are available to support you with bereavement and wellbeing issues relating to loss experienced through your work. Call: 0300 303 4434.

There is a team of fully qualified and trained professionals, all of whom are Tagalog speakers, ready to help you at our NHS Bereavement & Trauma Line for colleagues from the Philippines. This assistance is available from anywhere in the country and is provided by Hospice UK.

Tagalog speaking specialist counsellors and support workers are available if colleagues:
• have experienced a bereavement
• wellbeing has been affected by witnessing traumatic deaths as part of your work
• need to discuss any other anxiety or emotional issues you may be experiencing as a result of the coronavirus pandemic

All calls will be treated in the strictest of confidence and this will be explained to you when you call. This service is available seven days a week, between 8:00am and 8:00pm. You do not need a referral. To book a consultation call 0300 303 1115.