The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub is the simplest way to find books, e-books, articles and much more. It is the best place to start your search.
If you don't find what you're looking for in the Knowledge Hub then you should consult one of our other databases. Each database covers a different area of research so some will be more appropriate for your question than others.
To identify which databases you should search consult our guides for different professional roles or our guides for different health specialisms. These outline the key databases for different areas.
| Professional guides |
Alternatively, you can consult our database A-Z to see all the databases we have.
Most of our databases are on one of three platforms: Ovid, Ebsco or Proquest. You can find information about these platforms and how to use them below.
AMED: The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a bibliographic database covering a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.
CINHALUltimate: CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments.
EMBASE: Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals. It is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
EMCARE: EMCARE covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
MEDLINE: MEDLINE® is a bibliographic database produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. The database contains millions of citations, derived from thousands of biomedical and life science journals extending back to 1946. Indexed with Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®) from the NLM controlled vocabulary.
PsychInfo: This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in PsycINFO are peer-reviewed.
View the A-Z Database list for details of the content coverage of all databases available to Barts staff.
OVID allows you to search the following databases: AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine), Embase, Emcare, HMIC (Health Management Information Consortium), Medline, and Social Policy and Practice.
To sign in choose your institution: Barts Health NHS Trust. You will then be asked to use your OpenAthens login. You can register here https://openathens.nice.org.uk/ for an OpenAthens account.
Ovid tools & resources portal Full list of Ovid databases tutorials
EBSCO allows you to search the following databases: Medline, CINAHL, Health Business Elite, Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection, Dentistry & Oral Science Source, Business Source Corporate, GreenFILE, and ERIC.
ProQuest Dialog will allow you to search the following databases: AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) APA PsycArticles, APA PsychInfo, British Nursing Index, Coronavirus Research Database, Ebook Central, Health Research Premium Collection, Medline, PTSDpubs, and Publicly Available Content Database.
To sign in choose your institution: Barts Health NHS Trust. You will then be asked to use your OpenAthens login. You can register here https://openathens.nice.org.uk/ for an OpenAthens account.