Books you can read online. To read ebooks you will need an OpenAthens account.
EBOOK Succeed in Osces and practical exams by
This book is designed to be the ultimate companion to help you fly through OSCEs with ease.
Books you can borrow from one of our libraries. Click a book for more information.
How to pass your OSCE by
The Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) was developed for all undergraduate nursing programmes, with the aim of emphasising the need for nursing students to be competent in clinical skills, to assess clinical reasoning skills and as a means of standardizing the assessment process. This practical, easy to read and interactive study guide helps nursing and midwifery students at all levels to maximise their chances of success with OSCEs. It features case studies, quick quizzes, recap and recall summaries and an OSCE preparation plan; all of which help to prepare the student for the examination. Hints and tips on what to expect during the examination and pointers on what the examiner will be looking for, together with a comprehensive chapter on personal learning will help to guide the student through the process and maximise their chances of success! "Very readable with useful tips and information for students" Cath Hill, Keele University "I found the book extremely relevant from the students' perspective, reader friendly and well structured. Quizzes and activities excellent." - Liz Day, Senior Lecturer, Nursing and Health Care Practice, University of Derby "A useful and easily digested text on this important assessment strategy", Ms. Karen Lumsden, Faculty of Nursing and Applied Clinical Studies, Canterbury Christchurch University "Useful for students as they prepare... Easy to read and understand." Kirsty Wedgbury, Faculty of Health and Community Care, Birmingham City University
Nursing OSCEs by
In order to succeed in an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE), nursing students need to know not just what an OSCE involves, but how to undertake the skill correctly at each OSCE station. This book is a complete guide on how to prepare for an OSCE with step-by-step instructionsfor the ten most common OSCE stations that nursing students can face. Specific stations range from asceptic non-touch technique, communication and observations, to more highly pressured skills such as medication administration, resuscitation and assessing a deteriorating patient. Nursing OSCEs: A Complete Guide to Exam Success covers these skills and more in a clearlystructured and concise way. Each OSCE chapter outlines:DT Key revision material enabling quick and complete revisionDT Step by step instructions on how to perform the skill in an OSCE, DT An example examiners marking sheet, so studetns know the criteria they will be measured againstDT Typical questions an examiner may ask and suggested answers DT Common errors to avoid and top tips for success. With over 70 illustrations and videos of four OSCE stations, it demonstrates how to pass key stations. Bonus online material includes colour photographs and Powerpoints for revision at a href="http://ww.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/orc/cabellero/"http://www.oxfordtextbooks.co.uk/orc/cabellero//aThis book is ideal for nursing students preparing for OSCE as well as for lecturers, mentors and practising nurses involved in student education.
Succeed in OSCEs and practical exams by
"Here is a book that offers all the skills practitioners need to succeed in your exams and engages you in positive reflection of practice. I would recommend this book to students who aim to master their clinical skills and develop as an advanced practitioner." Lee Marshall, Student Nurse & Student Social Worker Sheffield Hallam University "The authors have introduced the often daunting OSCE to student nurses and progressed through each stage so that they should have the awareness of what to expect. The examples given are easy read and beneficial to all students regardless of the branch of nursing they have chosen to take. As well as being a guide for students, this book is also useful for examiners and mentors and the clinical area where the student could be undertaking their OSCE." Angela Southern, Student Nurse Need help to prepare and succeed in your OSCE or Practical Exam? OSCEs or practical examinations are intended to challenge you both personally and professionally, whilst testing your competence with the key clinical skills that nurses need to demonstrate to be effective in practice. This book is designed to be the ultimate companion to help you fly through OSCEs with ease. It covers: What OSCEs involve and how to prepare for them The most common types of OSCE scenarios What examiners are looking for in OSCEs How to develop your own clinical simulation learning style How to learn from your OSCEs How reflection can help give you greater understanding of your clinical simulation practice The book includes examples of OSCEs for you to work through, inspiring quotes and plenty of top tips to help you tackle your OSCEs with confidence! Succeed in OSCEs and Practical Exams is indispensable reading for nursing students taking all courses that involve OSCEs or practical exams - including diplomas, degrees and short CPD courses.
Objective structured clinical examination by
Preparing for an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE) is very different from preparing for a theoretical knowledge examination - your clinical skills and performance will be tested rather than just your knowledge of the theory. It is important to understand how to achieve the best results in an OSCE, and this handy pocket-sized guide describes each clinical skill in turn to help you feel confident and prepared for the exam. The Nursing & Health Survival Guides have evolved - take a look at our our app for iPhone and iPad.
A specialist U.K. English language learning course book for nurses who are non-native speakers of U.K. English. The book is intended for self study but would serve as a major resource for a taught course. The book presents examples of formal medical U.K. English, colloquialisms, idioms and clinical notes.
If you're new to the UK and the NHS, then this is the book for you. Hospital English: the Brilliant learning workbook for international nurses provides you with the information needed to improve your English communication skills and to develop confidence when treating patients.
OET Speaking for Nurses Book 1 includes information about the Updated OET Speaking Sub-test. The book outlines the speaking sub-test under headings relating to the marking criteria for the test. Each section includes a sample role play which links to a YouTube cartoon video.
OET Speaking for Nurses Book 2 includes information about the 2018 Updated OET Speaking Sub-test as well as role play dialogues with transcripts. Each section of the book highlights communication strategies which can be used in the dialogue.
This book has been specifically developed as a one stop shop of healthcare communication theory and practical skills for all aspects of the pre-registration course - in both the classroom and on clinical placement.
Compassion and caring are at the very heart of nursing - Compassion, Caring and Communication: Skills for Nursing Practice is a practical book that guides you through the complex dimensions of caring.
Revised OET Writing for Nurses for OET 2.0 Description of the Marking Criteria and two sample letters.
OET Writing for Nurses for the OET 2.0 (from September, 2018)
Losing the ability to communicate can be a frustrating and difficult experience for people with dementia, their families and carers. As the disease progresses, the person with dementia may find it increasingly difficult to express themselves clearly, and to understand what others say.
Written by medical and nursing specialists, and offering more than 10,400 clear and concise entries on the theory and practice of nursing, the dictionary provides comprehensive coverage of the ever-expanding vocabulary of the nursing professions.
Part of the skill of nursing and healthcare involves being able to decipher and understand the meanings of results and abbreviations. This books supplies you with the information which will help you understand this language, so that you can provide appropriate holistic care to your patients.
This essential guide explores the theory and practice of drug administration briefly and coherently, with 'test your knowledge' exercises and questions throughout to assess your learning.
Medicines Management: A Problem-Based Approach uses patient scenarios to explore pharmacology and medicines management.
Internationally Educated Nurses
This guide is aimed at recently arrived internationally educated nurses in order to help you prepare for your OSCEs and for working as a nurse in the NHS.
If you have a question regarding anything in this guide, or you are encountering issues accessing any of these resources, then please contact us at bartshealth.library@nhs.net
If you are interested in our other services, including training and evidence searches, please visit our Services page to find out more.
This resource, created by NHS England and NHS Improvement, with the support of NHS Employers and the unions, provides a collection of national resources and guidance to support international nurses during the COVID-19 pandemic.
- Registering as a nurse or midwife in the UK
- Test of Competence 2021 Resources
- Reading list: adult nursing - For full text articles email us at bartshealth.library@nhs.net
If you trained outside the UK, you will be required to complete the NMC Test of Competence which consists of two parts, a computer based test (CBT) and an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE). Preparation is the key to passing! Please familiarise yourself with the following information from the NMC and University of Northampton where the OSCE will be held.
University of Northampton Information
Oxford Brookes University
Ulster University
Other Essentials
Glasgow Coma Scale - Test your knowledge and examination skills
National Early Warning Scale - Online learning, resources and tests
The following resources will help you to prepare for the clinical skills assessment. You will need an OpenAthens account to login to access the online resources.
Mayes' Midwifery by
Now available for the first time in full colour, the 15th edition of Mayes Midwifery retains all of the features that characterised the success of earlier editions - authority, accessibility and comprehensiveness - while addressing the wider context of current midwifery practice by applying evidence into practice. The book explores anatomy and applied physiology, a wide range of public health issues, as well as cultural competence. Fast moving areas such as professional and leadership issues, fertility control, genetics, foetal development, medical problems in pregnancy and care of the new born and baby with complex needs are brought right up to date. The latest edition of Mayes' Midwifery has also been redesigned to further assist with engagement of the topics while the artwork programme has been upgraded to help with the understanding of complex physiological processes. As with the previous edition, the book also comes with an associated website containing over 600 MCQs, case studies, and reflective activities together with a wealth of other learning tools. Mayes' Midwifery 15th edition is an essential tool for midwives at every stage of their professional career - student midwives seeking knowledge, skills and guidance on their journey to becoming midwives - midwives returning to practice and for qualified midwives wherever they work. Nurses and health care assistants working on maternity units in the UK and overseas will also find the volume an important resource. New edition of a classic textbook updated and designed for today's midwifery student! Chapters authored by experts in their field, including midwifery academics and clinicians as well as allied professionals such as researchers, physiotherapists, neonatal nurse specialists, social scientists and legal experts Evidence and research based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Learning outcomes and key points help readers structure their study and recap on what they have learned Reflective activities encourage the application of theory to practice Contains practice based tools and checklists Presents and discusses the latest national and international guidelines Associated website with over 600 MCQs, reflective activities to encourage the application of theory to practice, case studies and additional learning tools Downloadable image bank to assist readers with essay preparation and other assignments Suitable for use in normal community and midwife led arenas, high tech environments and more rural areas of clinical practice Brand new design - incorporating helpful learning features - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Updated artwork program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts
Myles Textbook for Midwives by
Written by midwives for midwives, Myles Textbook for Midwives has been the seminal textbook of midwifery for over 60 years. It offers comprehensive coverage of topics fundamental to 21st midwifery practice. Co-edited for the second time, by internationally renowned midwife educationalists, Professor Jayne E Marshall and Maureen D Raynor from the United Kingdom with a team of contributors from across the midwifery community it retains its clear, accessible writing style. Most chapters provide useful case studies, websites of key organisations and charities for individuals to access further information. Reflective questions at the end of each chapter as well as annotated further reading aid reflective learning and stimulate discussions relating to continuing professional development. The book covers key frameworks that govern midwifery practice, exploring ethical and legal frameworks that are essential to every accountable, autonomous, professional midwife. Includes employer-led models of supervision, vital elements of leadership and clinical governance that supports the provision of high quality maternity services and standards of midwifery practice. The concept of resilience is introduced for the reader to contemplate their personal contribution in creating an environment that is conducive to protecting the wellbeing of themselves and colleagues within the workplace. The text covers the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development, highlighting the importance of midwives as global citizens with common goals, and together they form a strong global community prepared to challenge social inequalities and take action to help end extreme poverty. Covers designing and implementing high quality midwifery care using evidence, policy and models of care. Highlights why a holistic and evidence-informed approach is necessary to achieve effective care for all. Working examples will help the reader to think critically about their own practice. For this edition several new chapters are introduced covering concealed pregnancy, fear of childbirth (tocophobia), care of the acutely unwell woman and end of life issues including rights of the fetus/neonate and ethical considerations.