Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

About Us

News

Library closures

To allow for essential fire safety refurbishment work we regret that the NUH Library will be closed from 13th May 2022 and will not reopen until 2023.

We intend to continue providing a service to NUH staff throughout this period and the Knowledge and Library Service with a virtual service and a ‘click and collect’ book pick up point - operating from the MEC ground floor reception, where you will also find one of the KLS team to answer your enquiries. The book return box will also remain but may change location. In addition, from 23rd May, one of the computer training rooms (next to the Surgery Gateway) will be available for BH staff to access e-resources; and we will retain a small ‘core collection’ of books at the same location.

You can continue to contact us via our bartshealth.library@nhs.net email address.

We apologise for any inconvenience and thank you for your patience.
KLS Team


Our Libraries

 


 

All of our on-site library facilities remain open and accessible to staff, and we are supporting remote working wherever possible. We continue to provide a full range of support services, including:

Our Whipps Cross and Newham libraries are open from 09:00 to 17.00 Monday to Friday.  There are also knowledge hubs (computer rooms) at Whipps Cross and Newham which are accessible 24/7.

The Library Hubs at St Bartholomew’s and The Royal London are open to staff 24/7.

The Newham Library will be closed from 13th May 2022, to allow for essential fire safety refurbishment work, reopening early next year.

The library will be temporarily located in the Training Suite (portacabin) next to Gateway Surgical Centre, open Monday to Fridays 9am - 5pm staff ID required for access.

The Knowledge Hub will also move to the Training Suite (portacabin) next to Gateway Surgical Centre and will be open Monday to Fridays 8am - 6pm.

A member of KLS staff is also available in the main hospital, zone 2 ground floor, Education Centre reception desk to answer any queries.

There are 10 PCs available to users to undertake e-learning and studying in the Library Hub at The Royal London, located in Outpatient Therapies on the 2nd floor, North Tower. Books requested from other libraries can be delivered to this library.

Opening hours: 24 hour swipe access, but staffed Monday to Friday, 9am - 5pm (subject to staff availability)

Located on the ground floor of the KGV building, in the imaging department.

Opening hours: 24 hour swipe access, staffed Monday - Friday 9am - 5pm

There are 8 user PCs in the library for trust staff to use along with a small core collection of books.  Library users, based at SBH, can request items from our other libraries and collect them from here.

Located at Junction 11 in Willow Lodge off the main hospital corridor. On entering the education centre please pass reception and turn right.

Opening hours: Monday to Friday, 9am - 5pm

The knowledge hub provides 24/7 access to PCs and study spaces for Whipps Cross doctors with swipe badges. The knowledge hub is opposite the education centre reception.

 

Joining the library

Membership to the library is available to all Barts Health staff, students on placement and volunteers. Prospective new members will be asked to produce proof of employment, normally a staff ID. Students will be asked to produce their university photographic ID badge.

Please either register online or visit one of our library's during staffed hours and complete a membership form.

Members can borrow up to 6 books, our loan period is 3 weeks and books can be renewed up to 4 times. Members can have access to our subscription content and may request items which are not in our collection through our interlibrary loans and document delivery services.

In the library, we also support staff with additional support needs by providing longer loan periods on our books, or by checking to see if a title is available as an ebook for you in order to increase the font size or make it more accessible. If you have any additional support needs at all that the library can accommodate, please let us know!

Using our libraries

‘Click and Collect’ book loan service

We have launched a new 'Click and Collect' book loan service. The 'Click and Collect' service allows borrowers to reserve the books that they want from our collection and then choose the site they wish to collect the books from, all via the catalogue website https://barts.koha-ptfs.co.uk/

  • Browse our collection at https://barts.koha-ptfs.co.uk/
  • Reserve the items you wish to borrow. 
  • If the book is already on loan to another user, we will request that it is returned.
  • We will contact you when the book is available for collection at your preferred site.

You'll need your username and password to reserve items using the catalogue. Your login details can be found on your welcome email or request a reminder on the site, or alternatively email us at bartshealth.library@nhs.net for a reminder.

Renewing your books

Books with less than four renewals or no pending reservations may be renewed using one of the following methods:

Renew books
Online: Visit https://barts.koha-ptfs.co.uk/ and log in with your username and password.
Contact us: email bartshealth.library@nhs.net or phone 020 8535 6973

Returning your books

All our libraries have book return boxes, where books can be returned at any time.

Book return box locations
RLH Staff Library, Outpatient Therapies on the 2nd floor, North Tower
SBH ​Library Hub, imaging
WCH Medical Education Centre, Willow Lodge, opposite the lift
​NUH Outside the Education Centre on first floor

 

Support while self-isolating and working from home

If you are unable to visit us you, can still access our electronic resources via the A-Z Databases pages or via our Digital Library page on WeShare, the staff intranet (all staff should be able to access WeShare remotely).

We also want to draw your attention to Bookboon, our elibrary of soft skills and development books which include titles like Employee Wellbeing and Stress Management and Developing Emotional Resilience.

Interlibrary Loans

Our Inter-library loan service has resumed and we are able to request books on your behalf from other NHS libraries. Please contact us if you have a question about the inter-loans service.

 

Desert Island Books

Newsletters & Events

Events and Workshops

The library service periodically runs events at all sites and we are present at as many Trust events as we can. For information about upcoming events, see our Events Homepage, or please let us know of any upcoming events where the library could attend, whether to present or run a stand.

Information and news about new library resources or updates about existing library resources will be posted here and on our twitter feed - click below to follow us!

Newsletters

We send out a monthly service newsletter to library members to keep you updated on new services and resources.

Archived newsletters can be found here.

Please let us know if you would like to be added to our mailing list.

Policies

Documentation regarding library policies, reports and membership eligibilty.

Wellbeing

For information on where you can find wellbeing resources, please see our wellbeing pages here.