CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments. CINAHL Ultimate includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,253 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking. Note: Includes full text access to the Nursing Times.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
Subjects Covered:
Ambulatory care nursing
Cardiovascular nursing
Critical care nursing
Emergency medical technicians
Gerontologic nursing
Nuclear medicine technicians
Occupational therapy
Oncologic nursing
Pediatric nursing
Physical therapy
Psychiatric nursing
The MAH Complete collection brings together all MA Healthcare titles in nursing, midwifery, allied health and animal health, offering institutions a comprehensive resource to cover a broad range of healthcare settings. It is made up of four sub-collections: Internurse, Intermid, Health Professionals and UK Vet. With access to over 65,000 articles across 31 titles. Access starts from 1992.
BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation. With advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach. Access to BMJ Best Practice is provided by Health Education England to all NHS staff in England. Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Bookboon is a ‘soft skills’ eLibrary with access to over 800 free eBooks and audiobooks written by professionals with a wide range of categories including: career management, communication and presentation, management and strategy, sales and marketing, Microsoft Office software and personal development.
Access: To access Bookboon go to WeShare/Digital-Library (staff intranet) (Barts Staff login required) and then select Soft Skills eLibrary on the bottom left side of the page.
Dynamed provides summaries for over 3,000 disease and condition topics, incorporating over 1,000 drug topics. updated daily, includes guidelines from NICE, SIGN and Royal Colleges.
Access: Seamless access to DynaMed is available onsite, for offsite access you will need to create a free personal account while onsite and use those login details to access the website and app when offsite.
Covers all healthcare topics and searches many databases in one go, including Medline. It links to the vast majority of our journal articles, e-books, guidelines and evidence summary tools, providing seamless access to full text, as an immediate download or on request from an NHS library.
E-book collection which includes all the Oxford Medicine Handbook series, the Oxford Handbooks in Nursing and the 'Emergencies in...' series. The collection features over 130 key titles incl. the Oxford Textbook of Medicine, Emergencies in Critical Care, the Oxford Handbook in Adult Nursing and many more. Users will need to use the 'Sign in now' button to sign in using OpenAthens.
Evidence-based procedural manual, includes over 350 clinical procedures related to every aspect of care, from handwashing to cardiopulmonary resuscitation.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
