Skip to Main Content

Library Collections and Resources

OpenAthens

OpenAthens is your key to accessing a wide range of quality health and social care online information and resources including: databases, e-journals and e-books. OpenAthens accounts are freely available to NHS staff in England and you can use your account to access the resources from anywhere via the internet.

Barts Health NHS trust staff can self-register for an account at:

  1. When registering you should use your @nhs.net email to confirm your eligibility.
  2. Once you have created an account, you can manage your account details (e.g., change your password, organisation or email address) in the hub area of your account.
  3. If you have forgotten your password, you can reset it here

If you have any queries regarding OpenAthens please contact your local OpenAthens Administrator at bartshealth.library@nhs.net

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub

You must log in with your OpenAthens account in order to see the full list of results.

The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub allows you to search across our library catalogue, journal subscriptions and other library resources. Use this search box to find books, e-books, articles and much more.

Clinical Decision Support Tools

BMJ Best Practice Logo

BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation, with advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach. Access to BMJ Best Practice is provided by Health Education England to all NHS staff in England. Click here for more info.

Dynamed logo

DynaMed provides clinically-organised summaries for over 3,000 disease and condition topics, incorporating over 1,000 drug topics. DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals, using a rigorous seven-step methodology for selecting and critically appraising each selected article. Click here to learn more.

UpToDate logo UpToDate is a time saving, evidence-based, clinical decision at point of care, support tool. It contains all of the internal medicine sub-specialties (at a level that meets the needs of the sub specialist), primary care, internal medicine, ob/gyn,paediatrics, general surgery, and more – all in one resource. Discover more here
Lexicomp logo

LexiComp is a drug information database that will tell you everything you need to know about a certain drug. It also includes a drug interaction feature, so you know what to be aware of when prescribing. Access is via IP if you are on Barts Health sites or OpenAthens elsewhere. Click here for more info.

Books | eBooks

Members have access to a high quality collection of print and electronic books, that are constantly updated in line with user recommendations and the release of new editions. We aim to cover the requirements of all those employed in the trust and so while our collection is primarily clinically focused, we do also offer books on topics ranging from customer care to sociology. Our 'Reading Well' collection also offers books on healthy lifestyles, stress management and personal effectiveness.

Books

To search for hard copy books please search our catalogue here https://barts.koha-ptfs.co.uk/

You must be a member of the library to borrow a book. You can check to see if we have the title you need on the library catalogue and whether it is available. Log in to reserve items currently on loan or to renew your books. Please contact the library team if you need any help with this. If a book is not available at your site, then we can post them across to any Barts Health site for you to collect (usually within 5 working days). All sites also have a book return box, so returning a book is easy.

Can't find what you are looking for? We can also borrow books from other NHS libraries on your behalf. If you can't find what you are looking for, please fill in the book request form. To recommend a book for the collection, email the team.

eBooks

To search for ebooks please search our discovery platform here and logging in using your OpenAthens login details. Use the limiters on the left-hand side of the results page, under 'Source Type' to limit to 'eBooks'.

Some of our ebook collections can only be accessed via the publisher's webpages. These are:

For more information about our eBook collections please see our guide here.

Articles & Databases

Databases

You can find article records using the publisher's native search interfaces.

Some databases, such as Medline, are available via a number of native publisher interfaces. Native interfaces are useful to searchers carrying out more complex and detailed searches, either for the purposes of systematic reviews or guideline production.

Links to the native interfaces can be found on the A-Z Databases page under each database's entry.

Knowledge and Library Service librarians can provide training on how to carry out searches using a native interface, please contact us or visit our evidence searching guide for more information.

 

Articles using DOI or PMID

If you have an article's DOI address or PubMed PMID then use LibKey.io below to find a full text pdf of the article using the search box below. LibKey.io takes you from the search box to the article PDF in one click eliminating all the confusion around navigating publisher websites searching for links to read the full text or PDF's.

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID


Journals

The Knowledge and Library Services journal collection is focused on providing access to articles electronically. You can browse all our electronic titles using the BrowZine journals platform. 

BrowZine is also available as a mobile app. Download from the app store, select 'Barts Health NHS Trust' as your library and then enter your OpenAthens credentials when asked. Create a BrowZine 'My Bookshelf' account to organise and track your favourite journals and seamlessly sync between the web and your mobile device.

Trust Priorities Factsheets

Trust Priorities Factsheets

Barts Health Knowledge and Library Services produce subject specific factsheets signposting to relevant resources. Please contact us if you have any ideas for new subjects. 

Board Games

The Barts Health library has an extensive collection of educational board games which can be used during team days, training sessions, and to gain CPD credits.

You can play one-on-one or in teams, and all of our games encourage discussion throughout the game. Gameplay takes 30-45 minutes, but we can adjust this to suit you. We can also help you facilitate your first game. For a full listing of games visit our dedicated Board Games guide.

If you are interested in borrwing one of our board games or if you have any questions please email us.

Wellbeing

For information on where you can find wellbeing resources, please see our wellbeing pages here.