Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Resources

OpenAthens

OpenAthens is your key to accessing a wide range of quality health and social care online information and resources including: databases, e-journals and e-books. OpenAthens accounts are freely available to NHS staff in England and you can use your account to access the resources from anywhere via the internet.

Barts Health NHS trust staff can self-register for an account at:

  1. When registering you should use your @nhs.net email to confirm your eligibility.
  2. Once you have created an account, you can manage your account details (e.g., change your password, organisation or email address) in the hub area of your account.
  3. If you have forgotten your password, you can reset it here

If you have any queries regarding OpenAthens please contact your local OpenAthens Administrator, Timo Pilgram at bartshealth.library@nhs.net

Discovery:OneSearch

Discovery:One Search allows you to search across our library catalogue, journal subscriptions and other library resources. Use this search box to find books, e-books, articles and much more.

Clinical Decision Support

BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation, with advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach.

 

 

Dynamed provides clinically-organised summaries for over 3,000 disease and condition topics, incorporating over 1,000 drug topics. Monitoring the content of over 500 medical journals, using a rigorous seven-step methodology for selecting and critically appraising each article, the tool is updated daily making it the most current point of care tool on the market.

 

UpToDate is a time saving, evidence-based, clinical decision support tool which can be used at the point of care. It contains all of the internal medicine sub-specialties (at a level that meets the needs of the sub specialist), primary care, ob/gyn, paediatrics, general surgery, and more – all in one resource.

 

 

More information and access instructions for our Clinical Decision Support Tools can be found here.

Books | eBooks

Members have access to a high quality collection of print and electronic books, that are constantly updated in line with user recommendations and the release of new editions. We aim to cover the requirements of all those employed in the trust and so while our collection is primarily clinically focused, we do also offer books on topics ranging from customer care to sociology. Our 'Reading Well' collection also offers books on healthy lifestyles, stress management and personal effectiveness.

You must be a member of the library to borrow a book. You can check to see if we have the title you need on the library catalogue and whether it is available. Log in to reserve items currently on loan or to renew your books. Please contact the library team if you need any help with this. If a book is not available at your site, then we can post them across to any Barts Health site for you to collect. All sites also have a book return box, so returning a book is easy.

Search our catalogue here http://bartshealth.nhslibraries.com/

eBooks

To access the ebooks on the library catalogue, click on the link in the record. You will need to use your OpenAthens login to access. If the link to an ebook does not work, please let us know.

Can't find what you are looking for? We can also borrow books from other NHS libraries on your behalf. If you can't find what you are looking for, please fill in the book request form. To recommend a book for the collection, email the team.

Articles & Databases

Go from DOI or PMID to article in one-click with LibKey.io

If you have an article's DOI address or PubMed PMID then use LibKey.io to find a full text pdf of the article using the search box below. LibKey.io takes you from the search box to the article PDF in one click eliminating all the confusion around navigating publisher websites searching for links to read the full text or PDF's.

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID


Searching for articles using the bibliographic databases. You can find article records using either the at the Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS) platform or via the publishers native search interfaces.

Healthcare Databases Advanced Search (HDAS)

HDAS is a search engine-styled platform developed by HEE and NICE specially for NHS England staff. With this versatile platform, you can search at title level or build more complex searches to find articles on a specific topic. HDAS gives you access to the following 8 key databases:

Users of HDAS will need anOpenAthens username and password for access to all databases.


All the above databases and many others can also be searched using their native interfaces too. Native search interfaces are provided by publishers to not only provide users access to the database but also feature some advanced functionality that is not available on the HDAS platform too.

Some databases, such as Medline, are available via a number of native publisher interfaces. Native interfaces are useful to searchers carrying out more complex and detailed searches, either for the purposes of systematic reviews or guideline production.

Links to the native interfaces can be found on the A-Z Databases page under each database's entry.

Knowledge and Library Service librarians can provide training on how to carry out searches using either HDAS or on the native interfaces, please contact us or visit our evidence searching guide for more information.

Journals | eJournals

The Knowledge and Library Services journal collection is focused on providing access to articles electronically. You can browse all our electronic titles using either NICE's MyJournals A-Z or the BrowZine journals platform.

Board Games

The Barts Health library has an extensive collection of educational board games which can be used during team days, training sessions, and to gain CPD credits.

You can play one-on-one or in teams, and all of our games encourage discussion throughout the game. Gameplay takes 30-45 minutes, but we can adjust this to suit you. We can also help you facilitate your first game. For a full listing of games visit our dedicated Board Games guide

If you’re interested in borrowing one of our board games for CPD or training, or if you have any questions at all please email the team.