Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Board Games

Board Games

The Barts Health library has an extensive collection of educational board games, which can be used in training sessions and can help you gain CPD credits. Choose a game from either our online or physical collections. The online collection is designed to be played during group meetings on Zoom, Skype, Teams, or WebEx. Or try one of our original board game collection, which is better suited to in-person group events. If you’re interested in using one of our games for CPD or training, or if you have any questions at all, please email us

Online games

Why not try one of our new online games? Whether you use Zoom, Skype, Teams or WebEx make your next online training event or team day more engaging with an online game.

 

The collection includes:

  • Leadership Game (Health) - Educates health and social care professionals to understand collective clinical leadership.
  • Leadership Game (Workplace) - An educational discussion and group learning tool, which supports individuals and teams, to discuss and participate in collective leadership.
  • LGBT Game - A staff training game to improve awareness of LGBT+ issues, which leads to a more inclusive working environment.
  • MaP Game (Workplace) - Encourages open discussions about mental health at work.
  • Sepsis Game - Increases awareness of sepsis, improves recognition and management of sepsis.
  • Who Cares Wins - A tool for all levels of nursing staff. Includes all aspects of care as the players follow the progression of a patient from admission to discharge.
  • Working Stress - Helps clinicians to understand and manage work-related stress more effectively. A clinical trial proved efficacy.

 

You will need to use either Firefox or Chrome browsers to get the best experience with the online games. Contact us to discuss booking a game.

Board games

Our original board game collection, play them in-person in a one-on-one or in a group setting. All games encourage discussion and reflection throughout the game. Gameplay takes 30-45 minutes, but we can adjust this to suit you. We can also help you facilitate your first game.


Chiji Guidebook and Cards

Support your reflective practice with these tools

Top Tip: This set contains two sets of Chiji cards to help to facilitate reflective practice and discussion, along with a guidebook containing a collection of experiential activities and ideas for using Chiji cards.

 


 Circle of Life: End of Life Care Board Game

Consolidate your learning around end of life care

Top Tip: Up to four teams can play, picking the question categories that best apply - Communication, Advanced Care Planning, Last Days of Life, Assessment, Symptom Management, Cultural Considerations, Spirituality and Bereavement.


Communication Game

Improve your knowledge and skills around communication

Top Tip: Play in teams to share best practice and learn about the communication barriers which may face some of your patients


Doctor Jargon

Challenge yourself to use simple, jargon-free language

Top Tip: This taboo-style game challenges you to describe medical conditions without using jargon. Play with two people or with a group.


Drug Round Game

Test your ability to understand, recognise and minimise medication errors

Top Tip: This game is easy to play and reminiscent of snakes and ladders, but with really useful questions to challenge your medication know-how.


Game of Stools

Learn about C. difficile in an engaging and effective way

Top Tip: This game teaches you about C.diff and then tests you on that knowledge. Best played in teams using the library's simplified rules.


Harm Free Game

Understand your role in reducing patient harm

Top Tip: This is a simulation and discussion based game where you collect coloured clips representing different harms in order to make sure that your patient is safe. Best played in teams.


Infection control game

Infection Control Game

Follow the complexities and dynamics of an infection outbreak on a virtual ward

Top Tip: This cooperative simulation takes you through a shift on the Burton Ward, where you react to developments as they come in and discuss everything with your team. Best played with a computer where the accompanying video can be shown.


The nutrition Game

Nutrition Game

Learn about preventing malnutrition and dehydration

Top Tip: This snakes and ladders style game is best played in teams. Discuss with your team and answer questions to progress on the board and beat the other team to the end. Also comes with MUST questions.


Priorities Game

Priorities Game

Improve your decision making and prioritisation skills

Top Tip: This game is simulation-based and highly recommended for student and newly qualified nurses. Suitable for up to 8 players.


Removing Barriers

Removing Barriers

Gain awareness of the barriers faced by disabled people

Top Tip: This game is best played in teams in order to facilitate discussion. Move around the board and answer questions on the possible barriers faced by people with disabilities in order to win points.


The Sepsis game

Sepsis Game

Improve care delivery skills and awareness of sepsis

Top Tip: This game is best played in teams. Race around the board, answering questions about sepsis.


Stop the Pressure

Stop the Pressure Game

Learn about the prevention of pressure ulcers

Top Tip: Best played in teams to facilitate discussion. Move around the board and answer questions to receive SSKIN tokens.


The Stroke Game

Stroke Game

Develop a deeper understanding of patient care at each stage of the stroke journey

Top Tip: Best played in teams to facilitate discussion. Follow your patient on their stroke journey through the Emergency, Acute, Rehabilitation and Community settings. Includes questions on FAST.


Teams that care

Teams That Care Game

Explore the practical steps that teams can take to work together more effectively

Top Tip: This game is useful for any team working in project management or service delivery. Contains questions on four topics including Introduction to Teamwork, Shared Vision and Objectives, Communication and Trust, and Innovation & Change.


Working stress

Working Stress Game

Explore the practical steps that teams can take to work together more effectively

Top Tip: Play in two teams to answer questions and complete activities in order to facilitate discussion around the impact of stress and burnout and explore different techniques to help and manage stress.