Databases

Searching Guides

e-Learning - Literature Searching
A short course from e-Learning for Healthcare covering searching principles and techniques.
Library guide to literature searching
Tips and tools to help you navigate databases and find what you need.
Critical Appraisal Resources
Useful information on critically appraising literature.

If you would like 1:1 or group training on using databases or critically appraising literature please contact us.

You have access to the following databases either via your OpenAthens account or freely online.

Key Sexual Health Databases

MEDLINE® (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
Coverage: 1946 - present
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
EMBASE (Ovid) 1974 to present This link opens in a new window
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals. It is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
CINAHL (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
The CINAHL® database is a comprehensive and authoritative source of information for nurses, allied health professionals, and others interested in health care. CINAHL covers all aspects of nursing and allied health disciplines. CINAHL's annually updated thesaurus is adapted from the US National Library of Medicine's Medical Subject Headings (MeSH). There are over 4000 unique nursing and allied health subject headings.
Coverage: 1981 - present
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
Pubmed This link opens in a new window
Scope: Medical and Surgical
Access: Open access

Other Recommended Databases

AMED This link opens in a new window
The Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) is a bibliographic database covering a selection of journals in complementary medicine, palliative care, and several professions allied to medicine.
Coverage: 1985 to present
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
APA PsycInfo® This link opens in a new window
This database is published by the American Psychological Associations and provides comprehensive indexing and abstracts of the international psychological literature from the 1800s to the present. Documents indexed include journals, articles, books, dissertations and more. 90% of the 3,000+ titles indexed in APA PsycINFO® are peer-reviewed.
Coverage: 1806-Current
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
EMCARE (Ovid) 1995 to Present This link opens in a new window
EMCARE covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. Includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account