Knowledge and Library Services: Anaesthesia: Finding Anaesthesia Literature

Finding Literature

e-Learning - Literature Searching
A short course from e-Learning for Healthcare covering searching principles and techniques.
Library guide to literature searching
Tips and tools to help you navigate databases and find what you need.
Critical Appraisal Resources
Useful information on critically appraising literature.

If you are unsure how to conduct an effective literature search, contact us for 1:1 or group training on using databases or critically appraising literature. Alternatively, you can consult our online literature searching guide for self-directed learning resources.

Clinical Decision Support Tools

A range of clinical decision (also known as point-of-care) tools are available to use as a first port-of-call for clinical queries and treatment algorithms. Please see our clinical decision support page.

Key Anaesthesia Databases

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub This link opens in a new window
Covers all healthcare topics and searches many databases in one go, including Medline. It links to the vast majority of our journal articles, e-books, guidelines and evidence summary tools, providing seamless access to full text, as an immediate download or on request from an NHS library.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
EMBASE (Ovid) 1974 to present This link opens in a new window
Embase (Excerpta Medica Database) is a biomedical and pharmacological database containing more than 30 million records including articles from more than 8,500 journals. It is especially strong in its coverage of drug and pharmaceutical research, pharmacology and toxicology.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
MEDLINE® (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Ovid MEDLINE® covers the international literature on biomedicine, including the allied health fields and the biological and physical sciences, humanities, and information science as they relate to medicine and health care. Information is indexed from approximately 5,600 journals published world-wide.
Coverage: 1946 - present
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Pubmed This link opens in a new window
Scope: Medical and Surgical
Access: Open access