The library's collection of print and electronic books cover many areas of healthcare management and policy topics. Our collection is constantly updated in line with user recommendations and the release of new editions.
You must be a member of the library if you wish to borrow a book; Register to join online. Search our catalogue to find the books you need, as well as: check item availability and locations, request or reserve titles and manage your existing loans. Books can be sent to any Barts Health site for collection and all library sites have a book return box, so you can return books at a time that suits you.
Discovery:One Search is the simplest way to search our book catalogue, journal subscriptions and many of our other library collections. Use this search box to find books, e-books, articles and much more.
Can't find what you are looking for? We can also borrow books from other NHS libraries on your behalf. If you can't find what you are looking for please fill in the book request form. To recommend a book for the collection email the team.
Request a bookTo access ebooks in the library catalogue, click on the "Read me" button link in the record. You'll be taken through the publishers ebook site where you will need to log in using your OpenAthens details to access the full content. Use the links below for alternative ways to search eBooks.
In addition to our clinical titles, we also offer books from customer care to sociology. A separate "Reading Well" collection offers books on healthy lifestyles, stress management and personal effectiveness.
If you have issues accessing any eBook content or if the link to an ebook does not work, please contact us.
Accessing the majority of our Healthcare Management journals can be done anytime, anywhere via the internet. The titles and databases listed below contain some key industry titles such as the HSJ and Harvard Business Review. Members can choose to browse all our electronic titles using BrowZine. For assistance and tips on how to successfully navigate and find the resources you need, please contact us.
Our subscription to the Health Service Journal provides Barts Health staff free online access to HSJ articles and content. HSJ helps to inform your leadership and strategic thinking by giving you access to the insight and intelligence you need to provide better patient care.
Staff will need to contact the library to register for access. Once we have your request, we can send you out an activation link via email.
Once you have clicked on the activation link, and completed your registration, you will then be able to download the HSJ App.
As part of our subscription we also have access to HSJ solutions, a unique database of all the shortlisted and winning entries from carefully selected categories within the last three years of the HSJ Awards, HSJ Value Awards and Patient Safety Awards.
Harvard Business Review is the leading destination for smart management thinking. Through its flagship magazine, books, and digital content and tools published on HBR.org, Harvard Business Review provides professionals around the world with the rigorous insights and best practices they need to help lead themselves and their organizations more effectively.
All staff have access to the Health Business Elite database - providing access to 600 full text* journals for healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. It can be searched as a database,
You can also search for individual journals. Please note, you will need your OpenAthens credentials to login.
Please see the EBSCO Health Business Elite publisher page for a link to the full list of titles*.
*Please note that some titles will have limited runs or embargoes on access.
From 1 April 2019 Barts Health staff can access the Business Source Corporate database. It contains full text from more than 2,700 quality magazines and journals. Additional sources include more than 1,400 country economic reports from EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group International, CountryWatch, etc; 10,150 substantial company profiles; and over 5,200 full text industry reports.
Or you can access BSC content through our Discovery Search. You will need to use your OpenAthens credentials to log in.
Please see the Business Source Corporate publisher page for a link to the full list of titles*.
*Please note that some titles will have limited runs or embargoes on access.
Barts Health librarians have access to the HMIC Database from Ovid. It brings together the bibliographic database of the Department of Health's Library and Information Services and King's fund Information and Library Services.
You will need to log in via OpenAthens. Please contact the library to find out more.
BrowZine app BrowZine is also available as a mobile app. Download from the app store, select 'Barts Health NHS Trust' as your library and then enter your OpenAthens credentials when asked.
