Knowledge and Library Services: Leadership and management: Finding literature

NHS Knowledge and Library Hub

The NHS Knowledge and Library Hub is the simplest way to find books, e-books, articles and much more. It is the best place to start your search.

If you are unsure how to conduct an effective literature search, contact us for 1:1 or group training on using databases or critically appraising literature. Alternatively, you can consult our online literature searching guide for self-directed learning resources.

Key databases

Articles and papers to support your role or for research purposes can be found by searching one of the many high quality bibliographic databases available to Barts Health staff.

Business Source Corporate This link opens in a new window
Barts Health staff can access the Business Source Corporate database. It contains full text from more than 2,700 quality magazines and journals. Additional sources include more than 1,400 country economic reports from EIU, Global Insight, ICON Group International, CountryWatch, etc; 10,150 substantial company profiles; and over 5,200 full text industry reports.
Coverage: 1965 - present
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Consumer Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database covers an enormous range of subjects of value - from sports injuries to women's health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. It includes important general medical journals such as The Lancet and The New England Journal of Medicine as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
Health Business Elite This link opens in a new window
Health Business Elite provides access to over 600 journals for healthcare administration and other non-clinical aspects of healthcare institution management. It can be searched as a database with most articles available as full text. Includes the journals: British Journal of Healthcare Computing, Director, Forbes, Fortune.com, International Journal of Health Care Management, Management Today, Personnel Review, People & Strategy, People Management, Women in Business
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Healthcare Administration Database This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Health Management is designed to meet the needs of researchers studying the field of health administration. This high-demand healthcare management content provides the most reliable and relevant information on a wide range of topics, including: Hospitals, Insurance, Law, Statistics, Business management, Personnel management, Ethics, Health economics & Public health administration. Coverage for around 800 key journals with over 4,500 Doctoral Dissertations and Theses, ProQuest Health Management provides users with the highest quality content, much of which is not available elsewhere.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
Health Foundation This link opens in a new window
The Health Foundation is an independent charity, its aim is to improve the health care system and health outcomes through carrying out research and policy analysis.
Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) This link opens in a new window
The Health Management Information Consortium (HMIC) database is a compilation of data from two sources, the Department of Health's Library and Information Services and King's Fund Information and Library Service. Coverage includes official publications, journal articles and grey literature on: health service policy, management and administration.
Coverage: 1979 to Present
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Nuffield Trust This link opens in a new window
The Nuffield Trust is an independent health think tank. By providing evidence-based research and policy analysis its aim is to improve the quality of health care in the UK.