NICE Guidance, including care pathways, interventional procedure guidance, quality standards and more.
Further information on 'types of guideline'.
These links are to documents on the Trust intranet WeShare - you will need a valid log in to access these pages.
Click here to browse systematic reviews, protocols and trials from the Cochrane Library.
Trip database is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care. Users can search across research articles and papers, images, videos, patient information leaflets, educational courses and news.
Access: Trip database - Freely available; Trip Pro - user account must be set up using a computer on the Barts network.
We offer a variety of clinical decision - or point-of-care - tools which are designed to give you the most up-to-date information quickly. See our Clinical decision support guide for more information.
BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation, with advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach. Access to BMJ Best Practice is provided by Health Education England to all NHS staff in England.
DynaMed provides clinically-organised summaries for over 3,000 disease and condition topics, incorporating over 1,000 drug topics. DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals, using a rigorous seven-step methodology for selecting and critically appraising each selected article.
UpToDate is a time-saving, evidence-based, clinical decision at point of care, support tool. It contains all of the internal medicine sub-specialties (at a level that meets the needs of the sub specialist), primary care, internal medicine, ob/gyn,paediatrics, general surgery, and more – all in one resource.
UpToDate Lexidrug (formerly Lexicomp®) offers a variety of drug information references and decision support tools to meet the unique needs of pharmacists, prescribers, nurses, and dentists in a range of care settings. All products feature relevant, independently reviewed drug information to support safe medication decision making and help positively impact patient outcomes. Access is via IP if you are on Barts Health sites or OpenAthens elsewhere.
The websites below can be used for finding data sets, statistics, images and other resources.
Academic Health Sciences Network
Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality
AHSN Atlas of Solutions in Healthcare
CASH Quality and Transformation
Health Innovation Exchange- Yorkshire and Humberside AHSN
Healthcare Quality Improvement Partnership (HQIP)
Imperial College London - Patient Safety Translational Research
Insitute for Continous Improvement in Public Services
Institute for Healthcare Improvement - resources, tools, case studies
Kings Fund- Quality Improvement
NES Scotland - Quality Improvement Zone
NHS England and NHS Improvement
NHS Improvement You Tube Channel
NHS Sustainable Improvement Team
Royal College of Physicians Quality Improvement
UK Government-Research and innovation in health and social care
| Department of Health | https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-of-health/about/statistics |
|
Hospital Episode Statistics (HES) |
https://digital.nhs.uk/data-and-information/data-tools-and-services/data-services/hospital-episode-statistics |
| National archive | https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/ |
| Office of Health Economics | |
| Office of National Statistics (ONS) | |
| Nuffield Trust | |
| Cancer Research UK | http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/health-professional/data-and-statistics |
| NHS Digital | https://digital.nhs.uk/ |
| NHS England | |
| Public Health England | https://www.gov.uk/government/statistics?departments%5B%5D=public-health-england |
| King's Fund | https://www.kingsfund.org.uk/ |
| Trauma Audit & Research Network | https://www.tarn.ac.uk/ |
| The Health Foundation | http://www.health.org.uk/ |
| Global Health Facts | |
| OECD | http://www.oecd.org/statistics/ |
| United Nations | http://unstats.un.org/unsd/ |
| WHO | http://www.who.int/gho/en/ |
| CDC | http://www.cdc.gov/DataStatistics/ |
The following resources can be used to source general and medical images and multimedia.
When using images from the internet it is important to check copyright permissions, licensing and terms of use associated with the work. The following sources feature copyright cleared or Creative Commons licensed images, please ensure that acknowledgment or credit to the content creator is given and/or attribution of the source where required. If in doubt always assume that all images online are protected by copyright unless there is evidence to the contrary.
More information can be found at Best practices for attribution and The BIPP Guide to Using Images
The following sites contain photos which can be used for free under a CC0 licence. You may use them for commercial and non-commercial purposes. You do not need to ask permission from or provide credit to the photographer or the website
Disclaimer: The information provided in this guide is intended as general guidance to copyright issues when using images from the web. The authors assume no responsibility or liability for any errors or omissions in the content of this guide.
Open Access database, users install a browser extension which uses the article DOI to find Open Access versions.
Directory of Open Access Repositories. Global directory of academic Open Access repositories, searches can be carried out by region or by repository.
Kopernio adds a one-click access button to full-text research article PDFs on thousands of academic sites. Works with subscription and open access articles.
ScienceOpen is a freely accessible search and discovery platform that puts research in context.
The Open Access Button is a free tool that allows you to find free, legal articles with just a click and that will email an author to get a copy if one isn't available. It's available as a Chrome and Firefox browser plugin, as well as a website.