Skip to Main Content

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

Managing the Acutely Unwell Patient Resources

Barts Health Education Academy: Managing the critically unwell patient: Skills Passport

‚Äč

Online training for Barts Health staff to acquire the Managing the critically unwell patient core, advanced and paediatric patient skills passports. Additional Covid-19 for upskilling and revision modules too.

 

 

Coronavirus (COVID-19)

This programme contains e-learning courses relating to the prevention and treatment relating to the Coronavirus pandemic. In addition, useful links are included to other sources of information from the NHS and the UK Government.

 

 

COVID-19 Surge 2021 - Rapid Access Resources

To support NHS staff being deployed for the Covid-19 response, the London Transformation and Learning Collaborative have collated key resources to help individuals, educators and systems prepare. These resources are purposely designed to be short and read/watched on the move or the ward

Includes:

  • 360 ICU orientation: This 360 tour of an ICU bed space is designed to build a shared mental model of the risks and safety considerations at the ICU bedside. It is useful for staff in any role on ICU. It will increase familiarity with equipment and reduce dependence on experienced members of staff.  It works best on a smartphone but can be used on any computer or tablet go to the site to scan the QR code to use it on your smartphone now
  • Critical Care Equipment Guides: A mobile friendly web app allows the user to rapidly access quick guides, manuals, and training videos for most of the equipment used in Critical Care units in London.
  • Pharmacy webinars: Pharmacy Surge Training is 5 recorded live teaching webinars. This resource was developed by critical care pharmacists for pharmacists deployed to critical care in response to COVID-19. The content is relevant for any registered clinician who works within, or is deployed to, critical care.
  • Moral injury: This series of films are designed to stimulate reflection and start conversations about moral injury. This a real-life consequence of the current pandemic situation.
  • A Toolkit for rapid cross-skilling, supporting safe redeployment (PDF, 332KB): The LTLC have created a toolkit to support interprofessional cross-skilling during rapid redeployment of the workforce.
  • Just-in-time training for deployed staff: These just-in-time training packages for deployed staff collates COVID-19 response essential skills for staff being (re)deployed, with rapid access links to help them cover the essential skills that may be needed by anyone working outside their normal role in surge. Just-in-time training fundamentals (PDF, 1278KB) & Doctor redeployment Just-in-time training (PDF, 1300KB)
  • Managing the COVID-19 surge: 10 quick wins: The National CLEAR Programme provides training, data analytics and modelling tools for Clinically-Led workforcE and Activity Redesign (CLEAR). CLEAR participants working in ICUs across 4 London trusts have identified ‘quick wins’ to share with colleagues across the NHS.
  • Paediatric critical care cross-skilling documents: Staff who redeployed from paediatrics to adult critical care in surge 1 identified the learning outcomes they felt they needed to revise to feel confident in the adult environment.

Some of these resources may requires an NHS OpenAthens username and password to access. Sign-up for one here or contact the library.

 

Clinicalskills.net contains digestible step-by-step breakdowns of common clinical procedures, with easy-to-follow text accompanied by illustrations. To access the COVID-19 topics, please log in using your NHS OpenAthens credentials, and on the dashboard select "Procedures", then "Adults".

Recently added topics include

 

The online version of Royal Marsden Manual of Clinical Nursing Procedures includes over 350 evidence-based clinical procedures related to every aspect of care.

To access, please log in using your NHS OpenAthens credentials

The Royal College of Nursing's Introducing Critical Care programme is an online programme which provides the participant with resources to support an introduction to critical care for the nursing and midwifery workforce... It also addresses the identification of the use of self-care mechanisms for the nursing and midwifery workforce, introducing coping strategies to promote self-health. The programme will introduce you to a set of resources, which provide flexible and accessible learning. These may be revisited at any time for your learning and development. This is a developing resource and more learning will become available over time.

This resource is free for everyone to access, however, if you are not an RCN member, you will first have to sign up for a free 'contact' account. RCN members should log in using their existing details.

Clinical Decision Support tools

BMJ Best Practice is a clinical decision support tool, uniquely structured around the patient consultation, with advice on symptom evaluation, tests to order and treatment approach. Access to BMJ Best Practice is provided by Health Education England to all NHS staff in England. See our Clinical Decision Support guide for more info.

DynaMed provides clinically-organised summaries for over 3,000 disease and condition topics, incorporating over 1,000 drug topics. DynaMed editors monitor the content of over 500 medical journals, using a rigorous seven-step methodology for selecting and critically appraising each selected article. See our Clinical Decision Support guide for more info.

UpToDate is a time saving, evidence-based, clinical decision at point of care, support tool. It contains all of the internal medicine sub-specialties (at a level that meets the needs of the sub specialist), primary care, internal medicine, ob/gyn,paediatrics, general surgery, and more – all in one resource. See our Clinical Decision Support guide for more info.

LexiComp is a drug information database that will tell you everything you need to know about a certain drug. It also includes a drug interaction feature, so you know what to be aware of when prescribing. Access is via IP if you are on Barts Health sites or OpenAthens elsewhere. See our Clinical Decision Support guide for more info.

Critical Care Books

Resource Collections

Critical Care Books