Databases | Statistics - Allied Health Professions - Knowledge and Library Services at Barts Health NHS Trust

Databases, Articles & Papers

Articles and papers to support patient care or for research purposes can be found by searching one of the many high quality bibliographic databases available to Barts Health staff.

Go from DOI or PMID to article in one-click with LibKey.io

If you have an article's DOI address or PubMed PMID then use LibKey.io to find a full text pdf of the article using the search box below. LibKey.io takes you from the search box to the article PDF in one click eliminating all the confusion around navigating publisher websites searching for links to read the full text or PDF's.

Key Allied Health Speciality Databases

These following databases are a good starting point for more complex searches and searching to support research. You have access to these databases either by using your OpenAthens account or freely online.

CINAHL Ultimate
CINAHL Ultimate is the new definitive resource for nursing and allied health research, providing full text for more of the most used journals in the CINAHL index than any other database. It covers more than 50 nursing specialties and includes quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, CEU modules and research instruments. CINAHL Ultimate includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 1,253 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking. Note: Includes full text access to the Nursing Times.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
Subjects Covered:
Ambulatory care nursing
Cardiovascular nursing
Critical care nursing
Emergency medical technicians
Gerontologic nursing
Nuclear medicine technicians
Occupational therapy
Oncologic nursing
Pediatric nursing
Physical therapy
Psychiatric nursing
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a clinical search engine to support clinical decisions, access to 1000+ textbooks, 500+ journals, practice guidelines, drug info, 5,000+ patient handouts, First Consult, ProceduresConsult, over 13,000 videos and millions of images.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account
Nursing & Allied Health Database
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides users with reliable healthcare information covering nursing, allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, and much more. This versatile database is designed to meet the needs of researchers at healthcare facilities as well as nursing and allied health programs at academic institutions. ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source provides abstracting and indexing for more than 850 titles, with over 715 titles in full-text, plus more than 12,000 full text dissertations representing the most rigorous scholarship in nursing and related fields.
Access: NHS OpenAthens account for eligible users
OTseeker
OTseeker database contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Research evidence is retrieved from over 1,000 different journals and numerous bibliographic databases.
Access: Free
PeDro -Physiotherapy Evidence Database
A free database of over 43,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details, the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible
Social Care Online
Social Care Online is the UK's largest online database of information on all aspects of social work and social care. It includes legislation, government documents, practice and guidance, systematic reviews, research briefings, UK grey (informally-published) literature, reports, and journal articles. The database is updated daily and contains over 160,000 records from the 1980s onwards.

Please note: From January 2023 Social Care Online will no longer be updated. The site will continue to be available until December 2023. After this date, Social Care Online’s bibliographic data will continue to be available via the combined Social Policy and Practice database.

Access: Free

Other Recommended Databases

Data & Statistics

Department of Health	https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-of-health/about/statistics
Hospital Episode Statistics (HES)	https://digital.nhs.uk/data-and-information/data-tools-and-services/data-services/hospital-episode-statistics
National archive	https://www.nationalarchives.gov.uk/
Office of Health Economics	http://www.ohe.org/health-statistics.cfm
Office of National Statistics (ONS)	www.ons.gov.uk
Nuffield Trust	http://www.nuffieldtrust.org.uk/nhs-numbers
Cancer Research UK	http://www.cancerresearchuk.org/health-professional/data-and-statistics
NHS Digital Data, insights and statistics	https://digital.nhs.uk/
NHS England and Improvement	http://www.england.nhs.uk/statistics/
PHE (up to 30 September 2021)	https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/public-health-england/about/statistics
NHS Scotland	https://www.gov.scot/statistics-and-research/
King's Fund	https://www.kingsfund.org.uk/
Trauma Audit & Research Network	https://www.tarn.ac.uk/
The Health Foundation	http://www.health.org.uk/
Global Health Facts	http://kff.org/global-health-policy/
OECD	http://www.oecd.org/statistics/
United Nations	http://unstats.un.org/unsd/
WHO	http://www.who.int/gho/en/
CDC	http://www.cdc.gov/DataStatistics/

Research Support

Our staff are skilled in carrying out literature searches in support of research and patient care. We can help to save you time and ensure you find the high-quality information you need.

This is a free service provided by Barts Health Knowledge and Library Services to support clinical practice, service development and research. You can have your search set up as an alert so that you will be emailed details of new publications on a weekly or monthly basis.

To request a Literature search please contact us or fill in the online request form

Critical Appraisal Resources
The library have a number of resource or training that can help you develop the skills to assess the validity of a range of studies of different types. Request in person training or watch our series of videos where Barts Health Knowledge and Library Services’ Assad Lahlou and Adam Tocock use the CASP Checklist to critically appraise a paper.

Allied Health Professions

Databases, Articles & Papers

Go from DOI or PMID to article in one-click with LibKey.io

Lookup a journal article by DOI or PMID

Data & Statistics

Research Support